The Dartmoor Society Award 2010

Charlotte Faulkner, winner of the Dartmoor Society Award 2010 (photo copyright Chris Chapman)

The 13th Dartmoor Society Award was presented by Chairman Dr Tom Greeves at the Society’s Annual General Meeting held at Manaton on 17th April. The Award is made annually to individuals or groups who, in the opinion of the Society, have made a special contribution to Dartmoor.

The Award is in the form of a ceramic plate uniquely crafted by potter Penny Simpson of Moretonhampstead and calligrapher Susanne Haines of Bovey Tracey. Charlotte Faulkner’s plate is inscribed with the words ‘The Dartmoor Society Award 2010 – for Charlotte Faulkner for her devotion to the cause of hill ponies’.

Charlotte has for more than ten years spearheaded a campaign to give the traditional hill ponies of Dartmoor the recognition they deserve for their importance to the grazing management of the moor, and their wonderful qualities as riding pets, so that they obtain fair prices at the annual pony sales. She established the Dartmoor Hill Pony Association, and the Friends of the Dartmoor Hill Pony, from her Dartmoor farm base. She and her ponies are well-known at Devon County Show, and each year she also organises the fundraising 50-mile Dartmoor Challenge.

Dr Tom Greeves said, ‘Charlotte’s enthusiasm and passion for the hill ponies of Dartmoor is inspirational, and her work on their behalf, which has successfully raised their profile nationally and beyond, is hugely admired by all who have an interest in the future of Dartmoor’s most iconic, well-tempered, and ecologically best adapted beasts.  It gives me enormous pleasure to present this Award on behalf of the Dartmoor Society and indeed the wider Dartmoor community.’