The 2021 and 2022 Dartmoor Society awards are presented in person at last!


Tim Sandles and Bill Murray © Mike Rego
Photo: Mike Rego

Tim Sandles and Peter Beacham © Mike Rego
Photo: Mike Rego

Mike Gratton and Mike Watson, Sticklepath and Okehampton Conservation Group © Mike Rego
Photo: Mike Rego

Penny Simpson © Bill Murray
Photo: Bill Murray

The 2021 and 2022 Dartmoor Society awards are presented in person at last!

Posted in Awards on Thursday 19th May 2022 at 9:42pm

Each year, we recognise the work of people who make a significant contribution to Dartmoor.

Tim Sandles was presented with the 2021 award by Dartmoor Society president Peter Beacham for his website Legendary Dartmoor.

Tim Sandles began writing about Dartmoor online in 1997. This evolved into his current website Legendary Dartmoor that now receives 40,000 individual visits from all over the world per month and has its own Facebook page and quarterly newsletter. Due to work commitments, Tim now lives in Wales, but that does not get in the way of his enthusiasm for finding a fascinating story about Dartmoor history, folklore and traditions, or its flora and fauna set within a world-renowned landscape.

Tim’s dedication to Dartmoor shines throughout this site which is packed with fascinating facts and stories, all rigorously researched and beautifully presented. The Dartmoor Society was thrilled that he came down from Wales to receive his award in person.

The Sticklepath and Okehampton Conservation Group (StOC) were presented with the 2022 award for ‘their dedication to the conservation of Dartmoor’.

Mike Watson and Mike Gratton received the award on behalf of StOC and spoke to Bill Murray about their work that is focused mainly on the northern part of Dartmoor. They talked about their collaboration with DNPA warden Ian Brooker and their formation which stemmed from a community project at Finch Foundry Sticklepath in 1991, initiated by Norman Dunn from the former Leaze Centre for adults with learning difficulties in Okehampton.

StOC have worked with many groups over the past 30 years including the Dartmoor Commoners, Butterfly Conservation Trust, the National Trust, Woodland Trust, Devon Wildlife Trust, parish councils and schools. The relationships that they have forged with so many different groups are remarkable and they have been able to use the skills and experience built up within the group over many years to respond to calls for help from any one of these organisations.

Winners of the Dartmoor Society award are presented with a plate made by Moretonhampstead potter Penny Simpson and inscribed by Michael Edwards, an artist and printmaker also based in Moretonhampstead: two local artists who collaborate to make plates that have recognised the work of many Dartmoor innovators and artisans over the years.

Leave a Reply